The Margaux is a famous appellation in the Haut-Médoc district of Bordeaux, it is well-known wine-making aroma, mainly from Cabernet Sauvignon. The appellation includes the villages of Margaux, Cantenac, Arsac, Soussans and Labarde. The Margaux appellation of Bordeaux has a long and fascinating history. It was the first Bordeaux area to have vineyards planted, with grapes believed to have been cultivated in this region for over 2,000 years.

This commune is well known for its gravelly soils, which produce wines that are more elegant and refined than the other Left Bank communes; it is also famous for its floral aromas.

Soils in Margaux are the thinnest in the Medoc, with the highest proportion of gravel. Harvest here is typically completed a week earlier than in the other sub-regions, which can prove the deciding factor in the event of rain at harvest. This means that Margaux will outperform the other sub-appellations in vintages where rains strike in that critical week.


A part of important features of Margaux appellation are as follows:


  • Soil: Gravel and silt plateau on a layer of limestone or silt on clay.
  • Wine color of Margaux is red.
  • Aromas: Complex bouquet with fruity aromas of raspberry, cherry, and currant, but also floral, spicy, and roasted aromas.
  • Taste: Powerful.
  • Aging potential: 5 – 30 years.
  • Serving temperature: 15 to 17° C


Region Highlights

Surface: About 15.30 Square Kilometers
Classification: AOP Margaux
Grapes: Merlot, Malbec, Petit Verdot , Cabernet Sauvignon
Types of Wines: Red Wine

The Bordeaux region

Bordeaux wine region

No doubt that Bordeaux is one of the most renown wine regions in the world. With its standard red wine blends of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Cabernet …

Read more →