Château de la Jannière, 16th Century Winery with a Rich History
Château de la Jannière was built in the 16th century in the municipality of Monnières and has a very long history. There have been many changes in ownership and the catastrophe of phylloxera throughout the estate’s long history. The mighty reign of Château de la Jannière extends from Clisson to the Maillardière at the gates of Vertou. The castle was the residence of the Gohaux Family and later of the Baye Family until 1608. Years later, Rolland-Michel Barrin de la Galissonnière became the owner of the castle and immediately established the landmark of the estate. In 1730, the first vines were planted here, Melon de Bourgogne, from which the famous Muscadet wine is made.
Château de la Jannière – Rising from the Ashes
After a fire, only ruins were left in 1830, when the family Cormerais acquired the property. The botanical park surrounding the castle was later replaced by vines. In 1920, the mayor of Monnières, Pierre Lusseaud, becomes the owner of the winery and began to growing grapevines, which unfortunately were destroyed by phylloxera. It was not until 1924 that Galissonnière wines were produced again.
25 Hectares of Vineyards in the Muscadet Appellation
Today, the castle owns 28 hectares of vineyards spread over 25 hectares in Muscadet AOP, another 3 for Chardonnay and red grape varieties such as Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot. Philippe Lusseaud is now the fourthgeneration winemaker at Château de la Jannière who has been working with his brother Pierre Yves.