The Saint-Julien appellation is located in the geographical center of the Médoc between Pauillac and Margaux. It is one of the smallest Médoc appellations on the surface since it only represents 9.10 square kilometers of vines (6% of the Médoc vineyards). The position of Saint-Julien appellation is the geographical center of the Médoc wine area.

The elevation of St. Julien is from 0 to 23 meters. The highest altitude on the plateau of St. Julien is located at Gruaud Larose. The gravel in the soils is a key element to what makes the wines of St. Julien so great. The gravel helps provide natural drainage in the wet years, reflecting sunlight, radiating warmth and heat to the vines which allows the vines to delve deep into the soils.

The best vineyards have gentle slopes with access to the Gironde river, which helps create a micro climate.

Saint Julien produces a myriad of different styles of Bordeaux wine in the Left Bank of Bordeaux. They can be powerful, tannic and even masculine, which is what you find at Chateau Leoville Las Cases or the more traditionally made Chateau Leoville Barton.

The Saint-Julien, who have a remarkable aptitude for aging, have the reputation of associating the power and the sap of the wines of the communal appellations of the north (Saint-Estèphe and Pauillac) with the finesse of the Margaux.


A part of important features of Saint-Julien appellation are as follows:


  • Soil: A top layer of gravel on clay and limestone soil with large rocks.
  • Wine color of Saint-Julien is red.
  • Aromas: Notes of blueberry, blackcurrant, blackberry, intense and complex, plum, tobacco, and licorice.
  • Taste: velvety tannins, powerful and opulent, with very fine.
  • Aging potential: 5 – 50 years.
  • Serving temperature: 15 to 18° C

Region Highlights

Surface: About 9.10 Square Kilometers
Classification: AOP Saint-Julien
Grapes: Merlot, Cabernet Franc , Cabernet Sauvignon
Types of Wines: Red Wine

The Bordeaux region

Bordeaux wine region

No doubt that Bordeaux is one of the most renown wine regions in the world. With its standard red wine blends of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Cabernet …

Read more →